I’ve been suffering with migraines for about 12 plus years.  When I first found out what they were, I was in highschool.  At first they just let me be, but then the testing started.  MRI’s, CT scans, heart monitoring, blood pressure checks, glucose checks, you name it they did it.  It wasn’t fun.  The first medication they put me on was Firosette, it was terrible.  I would take it, sleep fitfully and in pain, then wake up with a worse headache and super groggy.  The worst thing EVER!  I have many friends who tell me this is a great pill, but not for me.

I’ve been to Marshfield Clinic in Wisconsin and they poked me, prodded me and pumped me with medication that made me faint when shopping.  I went to the neurologists in Marquette, MI and they gave me meds that did the same thing, plus swelled my eyes shut.  I even saw a Neurologist down here and he was nice, but the nerve block didn’t work very well and was super uncomfortable.  Most medications that worked, especially Tryptans like Imitrex and Zomig either don’t work now or cause such nasty reactions I just can’t take them.

A few years ago, I found that Tordal could get rid of a lasting migraine.  Probably once or twice a year I would get one of these shots.  However, the last two didn’t work so I think that my time with that medication has already run out.  I’m not going to let it get me down though. 

Years ago, I watched an acquaintance with migraine bascially put his life in suspended animation because of the headaches.  I decided there was NO WAY I was living this life.  Migraine or no migraine, I run…I play basketball…I watch movies.  Sometimes I do things I have NO BUSINESS doing with a headache, but I’M LIVING Life one day at a time.  I believe I’ve developed a certain amount of pain tolerance to them over the years of “ignoring them.” 

I was in an accident when I was 11 that broke my right cheek bone.  I’m sure as I get older and arthorits sets in the migraines will be triggered heavier and harder, but I’m going to enjoy every moment of “Normal” living I can until then.  I’m considering exploring accupuncture (one of the few treatments I haven’t done yet) and I read today about this O2 theapy that I’m going to research further into. 

I think that  the migraine pain is REAL.  The debilitating pain is REAL.  It affects my cognitive thought processes and my ability to do certain things, but am I going to let it rule my life?  NO!  I am a Bellydancer, Independent Team Beachbody Coach, Lab IT Analyst, Painter, Mother, and Palm Tree Marketeer.  Migraine Sufferer will not be part of my byline in life.  I don’t want to be remembered as “the migraine sufferer”.  If anything I want people to be amazed that I’m a headache walking.  I get 2-3 per week and they can last multiple days at a time so statistically if you meet me, I have a headache.  Do I want you to know that?  Heck no!  I’ll greet you with a smile and a joke…then turn around and lose my keys!  To all my migraine friends… I LOVE YOU…Rock out EVERY DAY…like the Headache doesn’t matter!   TAKE BACK YOUR BRAIN!  🙂

